Board Meeting July 23, 2009

APPOINT PROFESSORS TO THE CENTER FOR ADVANCED STUDY, URBANA

Action: Approve Appointment of Professors to the Center for Advanced Study,

Urbana

Funding: State Appropriated Funds

The Chancellor at Urbana with the recommendation of the Interim Vice Chancellor for Research and the Provost in consultation with the Professors in the Center, recommends the following faculty members for appointment as Professors¹ in the Center for Advanced Study.

Renée Baillargeon, Psychology Bruce Berndt, Math David Ceperley, Physics Matthew Finkin, Law Martha Gillette, Cell and Developmental Biology Laura Greene, Physics Frederick Hoxie, History Brigit Pegeen Kelly, English

¹Professors in the Center for Advanced Study (Center) are permanent members of the center community, chosen for their outstanding scholarship. Appointment to a professorship in the Center is the highest academic recognition that the campus can bestow upon a member of its faculty. Center Professors continue to serve as full members of their home department.

Concurrently, the Professors in the Center are: Tamer Başar, Gordon A. Baym, May R. Berenbaum, Leon Decosta Dash, William T. Greenough, Bruce Hajek, Ian R. Hobson, Nick Holonyak, Thomas S. Huang, Benita S. Katzenellenbogen, Susan Kieffer, Anthony J. Leggett, Michael Moore, Richard S. Powers, Abigail A. Salyers, Lou Van Den Dries, Dale J. Van Harlingen, and Carl R. Woese.

2

Harris Lewis, Animal Sciences Gene Robinson, Entomology

The Board action recommended in this item complies in all material respects with applicable State and Federal laws, University of Illinois *Statutes, The General Rules Concerning University Organization and Procedure*, and Board of Trustees policies and directives.

The Vice President for Academic Affairs concurs.

The President of the University recommends approval.